Abbott World Marathon

In 2006, the Boston Marathon joined the Virgin Money London Marathon, BMW BERLIN-MARATHON, Bank of America Chicago Marathon, and TCS New York City Marathon in launching the World Marathon Majors. In November 2012, the Tokyo Marathon joined the series. Athletes placing in the top five in these events are awarded points (25 for first, 16 for second, 9 for third, 4 for fourth, and 1 for fifth). Points are also awarded for performance at the IAAF World Championships Marathon and the Olympic Marathon. The World Marathon Majors Series is held over a full calendar year, starting and finishing in one city.

AWMM Series IX begins at the 2015 Tokyo Marathon and ends at the 2016 Tokyo Marathon. AWMM Series X begins at the 2016 Boston Marathon and ends at the 2017 Boston Marathon. Each series will then begin and end at the next prospective AWMM race. The Olympic Marathon and IAAF World Championships Marathons will be included in the race schedule in the years they are held.

Abbott WMM Series

The Abbott World Marathon Majors (AWMM) series will now cycle through one year of competition and consist of the following qualifying Races:

Tokyo Marathon
Boston Marathon
Virgin Money London Marathon
Bank of America Chicago Marathon
TCS New York City Marathon
Olympic Marathon
IAAF World Championships Marathon

2018 Schedule

Date Event
February 25 Tokyo Marathon
April 16 Boston Marathon
April 22 Virgin Money London Marathon
October 7 Bank of America Chicago Marathon
November 4 TCS New York City Marathon

Prize Purse

Beginning in 2017 with Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XI, the prize money purse was restructured to reward the top three men’s and women’s finishers in both the open and wheelchair Series. Previously, only the individual champions received prize money. The winners of the open division will receive $250,000, while the winners of the wheelchair division will receive $50,000. In addition, a total donation of $280,000 will be made in the name of race winners of all races that make up the Abbott World Marathon Majors.

One-Year Series

Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XI began at the 2017 Virgin Money London Marathon and ends at the 2018 Virgin Money London Marathon. Each subsequent Series will begin and end at the next prospective AWMM race. The Olympic Marathon and IAAF World Championships Marathon will be included in the race schedule in the years they are held, but will not begin or end the Series.

Point System

The champions of the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series will be the male and female athletes who score the greatest number of points from Qualifying Races during the one-year scoring period. During each scoring period, points from a maximum of two Qualifying Races will be scored. An athlete must start in two Qualifying Races over the Series cycle to be eligible for the championship. If an athlete earns points in more than two events, the athlete’s highest two finishes will be scored. Points are allocated following each race as follows:
1st place:………………… 25 points
2nd place:……………….. 16 points
3rd place…………………… 9 points
4th place:………………….. 4 points
5th place:…………………….1 point

Tie Breaker

In the event of a tie in points earned at the conclusion of a Series cycle, the winner shall be determined using the following rules (addressed in descending order):
1. The athlete with the best head-to-head record in Qualifying Races during the Series period will be declared the winner. Only the fact that one athlete finished ahead of the other will be taken into account and not by how many places. For purposes of clarity, it shall not matter whether the athletes scored points toward their Series total when considering head-to-head competition.
2. The athlete who has won the most Qualifying Races during the period.
3. The athlete whom the majority of the Race Directors of the six Abbott World Marathon Majors determines to be the champion. In such circumstances, the Race Directors may decide to award the title jointly.

Doping Violations

Under AWMM rules, no athlete who has been found guilty of any anti-doping rules enforced by the IAAF, World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), National Federations, or any of the individual AWMM races is eligible to win the AWMM championship title. Athletes must comply with the AWMM Code of Conduct. Athletes who at any time have been found to have committed a criminal offense involving drugs or to have violated any rules or regulations (including drug and anti-doping policies) of USA Track & Field (USATF), United States Anti-Doping Agency (USADA), World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), the Abbott World Marathon Majors (AWMM), or other athletics governing body, are not invited by the Boston Athletic Association to participate in the Boston Marathon. Any such athletes applying for entry on their own (with a valid, current qualifying marathon performance and payment of the required entry fee) are not eligible for elite athlete status, prize money, financial assistance, performance bonuses, or other awards from the Boston Athletic Association.

IAAF World Records Set in World Marathon Majors Events


WR Athlete WMM Event Date
2:02:57* Dennis Kimetto (KEN) BER 28 SEP 2014
2:03:23 Wilson Kipsang (KEN) BER 29 SEP 2013
2:03:38 Patrick Makau (KEN) BER 25 SEP 2011
2:03:59 Haile Gebrselassie (ETH) BER 28 SEP 2008
2:04:26 Haile Gebrselassie (ETH) BER 30 SEP 2007
2:04:55 Paul Tergat (KEN) BER 28 SEP 2003
2:05:38 Khalid Khannouchi (USA) LON 14 APR 2002
2:05:42 Khalid Khannouchi (MAR) CHI 24 OCT 1999
2:06:05 Ronaldo da Costa (BRA) BER 20 SEP 1998
2:08:05 Steve Jones (GBR) CHI 21 OCT 1984
2:12:12 Abebe Bikila (ETH) OLY (Tokyo) 21 OCT 1964
2:15:17 Abebe Bikila (ETH) OLY (Rome) 10 SEP 1960
2:25:39 Yun Bok Suh (KOR) BOS 19 APR 1947
2:32:36 Hannes Kolehmainen (FIN) OLY (Antwerp) 22 AUG 1920
2:55:19 Johnny Hayes (USA) OLY (London) 24 JUL 1908


WR Athlete WMM Event Date
2:15:25* Paula Radcliffe (GBR) LON 13 APR 2003
2:17:01^ Mary Keitany (KEN) LON 23 APR 2017
2:17:18 Paula Radcliffe (GBR) CHI 13 OCT 2002
2:18:47 Catherine Ndereba (KEN) CHI 07 OCT2001
2:19:46 Naoko Takahashi (JPN) BER 30 SEP 2001
2:20:43 Tegla Loroupe (KEN) BER 26 SEP 1999
2:21:06 Ingrid Kristiansen (NOR) LON 21 APR 1985
2:22:43 Joan Benoit Samuelson (USA) BOS 18 APR 1983
2:25:29 Grete Waitz (NOR) LON 17 APR 1983
2:25:42 Grete Waitz (NOR) NYC 26 OCT 1980
2:27:33 Grete Waitz (NOR) NYC 21 OCT 1979
2:32:30 Grete Waitz (NOR) NYC 22 OCT 1978
2:34:48** Christa Vahlensieck (GER) BER 10 SEP 1977
2:42:24 Liane Winter (GER) BOS 21 APR 1975

* Current World Record as of February 2017
** Set in the 1977 German Marathon Championships
^World Record for all-Women’s Marathon

Abbreviations Used Throughout This Section
BOS = Boston Marathon
LON = Virgin Money London Marathon
CHI = Bank of America Chicago Marathon
NYC = TCS New York City Marathon
OLY = Olympic Games Marathon